OKI is considering an amendment to the Regional Water Quality Management (WQM) Plan for an area in southeast Warren County along State Route 132 from the county line in the south northeast to Pleasant Plain.  Public comment is being gathered on line through OKI’s website.

OKI published the original Regional Water Quality Management (WQM) Plan in 1977, and has periodically made updates to the plan since it was adopted.  Such planning is required under Section 208 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972 to assess sources of water pollution and recommend strategies to control them.

The proposed amendment is being requested by OKI so that water quality can be protected, maintained, enhanced and controlled.  The amendment would update the boundaries of the O’Bannon Creek, North O’Bannon Creek, and Butlerville Facility Planning Areas (FPAs) to reflect a long standing intergovernmental agreement between Warren County and Clermont County.  Areas of Warren County along State Route 132 are currently designated as part of Warren County’s North O’Bannon Creek FPA but receive sewer service from neighboring Clermont County’s O’Bannon Creek wastewater treatment plant (WWTP). Both counties established this system through and intergovernmental agreement in 2012.

The amendment would move the area in Warren County being served by the O’Bannon Creek WWTP from the North O’Bannon FPA to the O’Bannon Creek FPA to accurately reflect this intergovernmental agreement. The eastern most portion of the North O’Bannon Creek FPA being entirely separated from the western portion by this agreement will be placed into the Butlerville FPA.

Public comment on the proposed amendment is being gathered on line through the website and social media or via the mail. Written comments should be directed to David Rutter of OKI staff and will be accepted until 4 p.m. September 4, 2023.

Click here to see the map of the proposed boundaries, text of the proposed Chapter 7 changes, and intergovernmental agreements between Clermont and Warren Counties.